Tips for the pregnant bride

Most women dream about looking a million dollars on their big day, getting in great shape to fit in their perfect dress, well I’m not most  women, I was 28 weeks pregnant at my wedding!

So now I’ve been there and done it, I’m sharing some tips to make sure you enjoy your day and look after yourself at the same time.

Tip #1 – Flat shoes

I know, I know…heels elongate your legs, look much prettier and let’s face it they just make you feel better about yourself when you’re wearing them…unless you’re pregnant, then they are blister breeding, ankle swelling shackles of death. Plus if you’re anything like me, your balance is off in pregnancy so it’s best to be in flats. If you have your heart set on heels, just wear them down the aisle, trust me get some comfy shoes for the evening…you’ll thank me later!

Here’s the DIY Converse I did for my wedding:

 

Tip #2 Rest & take the help

Leading up to my wedding I planned everything down to a T, I made sure everyone knew their jobs and delegated, so all I had to do was sit back and enjoy, trust me no-one is gonna say no to a pregnant lady! I stressed up until the night before, then I got as much sleep as possible and just let the day flow, there’s no point stressing on the day, because you won’t enjoy it as much, plus stress & hormones don’t mix! So put aside your pride and take all the help offered!

141

Tip #3 Eat

This is important for all brides, but if you’re pregnant it is especially important to keep yourself hydrated and fed, you are making another human being after all. Plus you don’t want to lose part of the day needing to lie down or going dizzy and needing to go hospital. If you want to eat you eat, even if you have to nick a slice of wedding cake, no-one’s going to argue with a pregnant lady!

220.jpg

Tip #4 Pick a comfy dress

I borrowed my dress from a friend who was pregnant when she got married, it had a lot of give around the tummy and was strapless, it was a lovely dress but I knew it might get heavier by the evening so I bought a £30 back up dress from Amazon, it had one shoulder and was very lightweight and breathable, I was so glad I brought it.

Tip #5 Be prepared for comments

The main comment everyone will ask you is “Was it planned that you would be pregnant at the wedding?” or leading up to the wedding you may get “Don’t you want to postpone until the baby is here?” or the one I unbelievably got more than a few times was “Oooh what if she’s born at the wedding?” I was 28 weeks pregnant at my wedding, considering I had been 29 weeks when my eldest was born, this was more of an insult than just a passing comment, but as hard as it was (especially with hormones) I had to let it go, just realising no-one means any harm, they just don’t think before speaking, it’s not worth letting it ruin your big day. All that matters is you are marrying the person you love…

159.jpg

Tip#6 Be prepared for an early-ish night

Most people party until the early hours at their wedding, I was ready for the car to pick us up by 9pm. Don’t get me wrong I loved every minute, but I was pregnant and exhausted…I wanted my big comfy bed and spa hotel, which brings me to my last tip…

13615393_10207965362230596_4496399098818828682_n.jpg

Tip#7 Make your honeymoon your babymoon

For those that don’t know a babymoon is a little break for mum and dad-to-be before baby comes, so unless you’re loaded you probably can’t afford one as well as a wedding. So if you were planning a honeymoon make sure it’s actually to rest, not an activity filled adventure. We went to a spa hotel an hour away and had 2 nights of massages, relaxing and lots of food.

Most of all this goes for all brides…enjoy the day! So you are pregnant, so what?! What is more special than walking down the aisle to the person you love with your baby growing inside of you.

155.jpg

 

3 thoughts on “Tips for the pregnant bride

Leave a comment